歷史

作為美國最大的亞裔社會服務機構,華人策劃協會(CPC)提供適合各個年齡段和不同文化的服務。華人策劃協會目前通過曼哈頓,布魯克林和皇后區30多個地點的50多個合同計劃每天為8,000多人提供服務。

1965年

為響應與民權運動相呼應的排華年代的結束,貧困戰爭以及1965年的《移民和歸化法》之後大量中國移民的湧入,華人策劃協會於1965年成立,是一個基層的社區組織。最初,華人策劃協會創始人自願地為當地學校推薦的家庭提供諮詢,隨著機構的發展,華策會開始提供個案管理服務以幫助新移民適應新的家園。最初的服務圍繞新移民的個案管理,這些移民在到達紐約市後需要支持去面對各種挑戰,華策會與公立學校密切合作。

1966年

1966年,華人策劃協會與曼哈頓教育部的公立學校系統密切合作,在曼哈頓成立了第一個學齡兒童托兒中心(SACCC),以最大程度地支持移民家庭。華人策劃協會還通過全市的五個托兒中心提供日托服務,這是工薪移民家庭的重要財富。不久之後,華人策劃協會發起了Project Reach項目。該項目最初為唐人街的高風險幫派青年提供服務。今天,該計劃側重於為各種背景的年輕人,尤其是LGBTQI青少年提供服務。多年來,華人策劃協會新增了“青年就業和實習計劃”,以學校為基礎的燈塔社區中心,Project Gateway大學計劃以及其他針對服務欠缺的青少年的課餘和校內計劃。

1972年 - 1983年

華人策劃協會針對社區的成人設立多種服務。華人策劃協會曼哈頓唐人街的多元-社會服務中心(Multi-Social Service Center)於1980年代擴展到為布魯克林和皇后區的居民提供服務,如今每天接待100多個客戶。在1972年,為應對許多中國老年人面臨的孤立,經濟和語言障礙,華人策劃協會開設了“開放式老年人中心”。 Open Door是位於曼哈頓唐人街的老人中心,位於皇后區的Nan Shan老人中心和分別於1981年,1988年和2005年開業的布魯克林老人服務部門的榜樣。自1983年以來,華人策劃協會還通過其“家庭服務計劃”(Home Attendant Program)為居家的老年人提供具有不同文化背景的家庭護理服務。在1975年,華人策劃協會開設了英語語言中心,即現在的就業部,為新移民提供工作準備培訓和職場英語指導。
華人策劃協會目前在紐約市的三大區設有五個服務部門(皇后區,布魯克林區和曼哈頓區):托兒服務,青年服務,老年服務,社區服務和勞動力發展。華人策劃協會的家庭服務計劃擁有自己的稅號。

早期教育與健康服務部(ECLW)

早期教育與健康服務部是華人策劃協會社區服務的其中一個部門。它也是紐約市托兒諮詢和轉介協會的一個成員,該協會由紐約市的四個不同文化背景的托兒諮詢和轉介機構組成。我們的服務目標是通過以下方式來滿足家庭的托兒需求:提供教育,信息和轉介,並通過指導,基於評估的強化技術援助,健康護理諮詢和培訓來增加托兒服務的供給,並提高托兒質量。
我們的工作人員會說多種語言,包括英語,中文和西班牙語。我們為家長提供免費教育,以及高質量、負擔得起的托兒信息,幫助他們駕馭紐約市復雜的托兒服務系統。此外,早期教育與健康服務部還提供家庭托兒講座,培訓,技術援助,健康護理諮詢,幫助潛在的和持有牌照的托兒所/托兒人員申請補助金,以增加紐約市托兒服務的供給,提高托兒服務的質量。
本部門得到紐約州兒童與家庭服務辦公室的資助。

Scroll to Top

About CPC 2017-10-08T21:05:50+00:00

Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc. (CPC)

History

As the largest Asian American social services agency in the United States, the Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc. (CPC) provides culturally sensitive programs for all ages. CPC currently serves over 8,000 people daily through 50+ contracted programs in 30+ locations in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens.

CPC was founded in 1965 as a grassroots, community-based organization in response to the end of the Chinese Exclusion years that coincided with the Civil Rights Movement, the War on Poverty and the vast influx of Chinese immigrants after the Immigration and Naturalization Act of 1965. Initially, CPC founders volunteered and counseled families referred by local schools and then as the agency developed, provided case management services to help recent entrants adjust to their new homes. Original services centered around case management for new immigrants who were seeking support for a wide variety of challenges upon arrival in NYC, working in close partnership with public schools.

In 1966, CPC launched its first school-age child care center (SACCC) in Manhattan, in close coordination with the Department of Education’s public school system, in order to best support immigrant families. CPC also provides day care through five Early Child Care centers throughout the city, a vital asset for working immigrant families. Soon after, CPC launched Project Reach which originally provided programs for at-risk gang youth in Chinatown. Today the program focuses on services for youth of all backgrounds especially LGBTQI teens. CPC over the years added Youth Employment and Internship Programs, a school-based Beacon community center, Project Gateway college options program, and other after-school and in-school programs for underserved youth and teens.

CPC’s programs for adult members of the community include a wide range of services. CPC’s Multi-Social Service Center, in Manhattan’s Chinatown, expanded to serve clients in Brooklyn and Queens in the 1980’s and now receives over 100 walk-in clients daily. In 1972, in response to the isolation, economic and language barriers faced by many Chinese seniors, CPC opened the Open Door Senior Center. Open Door serves as a model for the agency’s Chinatown Senior Center in Manhattan, Nan Shan Senior Center in Queens, and Brooklyn Senior Services, opened in 1981, 1988, and 2005, respectively. Since 1983, CPC has also offered culturally competent home care services to home-bound seniors through its Home Attendant Program. In 1975, CPC opened the English Language Center, now the Workforce Division, which provides new immigrants with job-readiness training and workplace English instruction.

CPC currently has five program areas that serve three New York City boroughs (Queens, Brooklyn and Manhattan): Child Care Services, Youth Services, Senior Services, Community Services and Workforce Development. CPC’s Home Attendant Program is an affiliate with its own tax identification number.

Asian Child Care Resource & Referral (ACCR)

Asian Child Care Resource & Referral (ACCR) is one of the programs offered by CPC’s Community Services Division. It is also part of the New York City Child Care Resource & Referral Consortium that is composed of four culturally diverse child care resource and referral agencies in New York City. Our service goals are to serve the child care needs of families through providing education, information and referrals, as well as to increase the supply and improve the quality of child care services through coaching, assessment-based & intensive technical assistance, health care consultancy and training.

Our staff members are multi-lingual in English, Chinese and Spanish. We provide parents with Free information on quality and affordable child care and assist them in navigating New York City’s complex child care delivery system. In addition, ACCR offers Family Day Care orientations, trainings, technical assistance, grants to potential and existing child care programs/providers, in order to increase the supply and improve the quality of child care service in New York City.

OFFICE

165 Eldridge Street,
New York, NY 10002

Working Hours: Mon-Friday 9AM to 5PM

(Extended hours on Saturdays and on weekdays after 5pm are available by appointment)

TELEPHONE

212-941-1828 (English line)

212-792-4597 (Chinese line)
Fax: 212-343-9567
or 212-226-5351